Every family has a story…welcome to ours…

I had woken up on another rather ordinary day in Burlington, Vermont…at 4 am and trudged my way from my XL twin bed I outgrew freshman year into the bathroom, turned on the water and let it run over my body for a good 10 minutes before putting on my khakis, short sleeved red shirt, and throwing my hair up — still soaking wet. I applied some makeup in my small mirror, eyes half closed and proceeded out to my car for my shift at Dunkin’ Donuts. I loved the morning shift because I was able to drink as many coffees as I wanted and because I always saw the most interesting people on their way from who knows where and it gave me such an appreciation for the life that existed outside the walls of the small catholic college I attended. I always wondered their life stories and how of all places, they ended up on Williston Road. I wondered how many of these people I’d see again and how our lives would eventually intersect. As I went to pour another medium regular, I heard a voice that captured my attention out of a room of crowded people, all talking at the same time. I peered around the stainless steel appliances trying to find the body to which the voice belonged. The laugh was contagious and I found myself smiling for no other reason than hearing the melodic sound. The voice kept getting closer and I kept peering, waiting, anxiously.

It was as though it was the moment I had been waiting for my entire life. It was that cosmic feeling where you think your soul for the first time has been awakened after being empty for so long. Every little thought I had been pondering suddenly disappeared — life just slowed down regardless of how fast my heart was beating or the amount of adrenaline coursing through my veins. Closer and closer. The anticipation was killing me. I closed my eyes for a brief minute to compose myself and when I opened them…

There she was.

After four years of trial and error, discovering every imperfection and everything that made us perfect for one another, we’re in it for the long haul. We have been engaged since June 22, 2013 and are excited to see where our lives will lead us but for now, it’s a frenzy of fashion, fur, fitness, and finding love. Welcome to the Futch Life.

Engagement

Leave a Reply

